(Not Quite) 100 Things About Me
Cast of Characters
Email Me

Today I feel:



My New Blog - Tuesday, Mar. 14, 2006
Ive Been Discovered - Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005
Babysitting Saga, Part 2 - Monday, Jan. 10, 2005
Um...Sorry to Disturb You - Friday, Jan. 07, 2005
Do Yinze Want Some Icning? - Friday, Jan. 07, 2005

Party Girl Kimi
Mommy Kimi


March of Dimes
Kitty Girls Designs
Television without Pity
Forplay Catalog (A mommy still has to have some fun.)

Diaryland
Haloscan

Juiced
Backstreet Law

Rockpage

Homestar Runner

Blog Explosion
Blogarama
Who Links Here

Running with Scissors

Saturday, Nov. 13, 2004 - 7:30 p.m.


Let me just start out by saying that I have a splitting headache right now. I've been bitchy and cranky for the past couple days because I've been trying to cut back on the caffeine. My cholesterol is at 200, which apparently is not good. I heard cutting back on caffeine will help bring it down. Typically, I drink about 2 cups of coffee in the morning...the strongest I can find. Then I have a 20 oz. Diet Pepsi in the afternoon, and finish off the evening with more Diet Pepsi. Today I just had one medium soda from Wendy's, so I'm dying here.



Ok...back to the regularly scheduled blog. This post is kind of funny and sad at the same time. I debated about writing it, but I guess I'm here to talk about my experiences.

My grandpa, who is 93, is in the hospital right now. This is the story of how he got there.

Earlier this week, my mom went down to my grandpa's house to check up on him. He lives alone, since my grandma died about 4 years ago, and my mom checks on him in the morning and afternoon. Well, this particular morning when my mom went down, he had fallen. This is nothing unusual. He tends to fall a lot and this is the reason why my mom checks on him so much. This time however when my mom asked him to roll over on his back (he had fallen on his side) he just started screaming and screaming. My mom was positive that he broke his hip, so she called the ambulance.

Well, the ambulance came, and the EMTs couldn't get him on his back, because my grandpa was screaming so much, so they took him to the hospital on his side. Well, in the emergency room, everything seemed to be alright with him. The nurses got him up and he was walking around and everything seemed fine, and they were getting ready to send him home.

My mom insisted that before he was discharged that they take an x-ray of his hip, because she was positive something was wrong, because he was screaming so bad, and that isn't like him.

They took him for an x-ray, and when the nurse came back with the results, she was trying hard not to laugh. I guess what the x-ray showed was SOMEHOW a pair of scissors slipped down his pants at home and when he fell, they were jabbing him and that was why he was screaming so loud.

When they were discharging my grandpa, my mom asked the doctor if he had any advice and he told her (with a smirk)to keep him away from sharp objects.

It's a funny story, but kind of sad too. Here's man who is the most generous, kindest man, who quit school in the 8th grade to go work in the coal mines to support his family. This is what happens when you get old. Sucks, doesn't it...

He got readmitted to the hospital the following day, because his bloodwork came back with a high white cell count, so he's there to be observed and is taking antibiotics. Hopefully, he'll get out tomorrow.

So, that's my lesson to everyone out there....don't put sharp objects down your pants.

See my blog is educational AND fun! :)

|


Blogroll Me!


The WeatherPixie