(Not Quite) 100 Things About Me
Cast of Characters
Email Me

Today I feel:



My New Blog - Tuesday, Mar. 14, 2006
Ive Been Discovered - Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005
Babysitting Saga, Part 2 - Monday, Jan. 10, 2005
Um...Sorry to Disturb You - Friday, Jan. 07, 2005
Do Yinze Want Some Icning? - Friday, Jan. 07, 2005

Party Girl Kimi
Mommy Kimi


March of Dimes
Kitty Girls Designs
Television without Pity
Forplay Catalog (A mommy still has to have some fun.)

Diaryland
Haloscan

Juiced
Backstreet Law

Rockpage

Homestar Runner

Blog Explosion
Blogarama
Who Links Here

Taking a Chance

Tuesday, Jan. 04, 2005 - 9:52 a.m.


I got a really weird phone call last night. About 5:00 p.m., the phone rings. On my Caller ID it came up as a pay phone number with an area code that I didn�t recognize. Sometimes T calls me when he is out making deliveries, so I thought maybe it was him, and the phone number was just goofy.

�Hello?�
�This is a collect call from��

If you�ve ever made a collect call, you know how they ask you to record your name, so at this point this person�s voice comes on the line...

��..Rick (in the guy�s voice) from the Middlesex County Prison.�

GAAHHH!! At this point, I hang up the phone. WTF? So did �Rick� just f�k up his one phone call by dialing a wrong number or did this person intend to call me? So I�m freaking out all night wondering who this �Rick� is and how did he get my number.

I checked out the phone number online and it�s a New Jersey number. I don�t live in New Jersey. When �Rick� gets out of prison is he going to come looking for me, because I didn�t accept his phone call? Freaky�.



I guess it�s because it�s the New Year, but I�m really taking inventory of my life�especially my career. My job is fine. It�s there. It�s average. I do what I need to do, and I go home. Good benefits. OK pay. But there�s no opportunity for advancement where I am. There�s no excitement. No creativity. No new ideas. No thinking out of the box.

I work in a very business-like, conservative environment. I�m not the typical �business� type. I�m not conservative. I do the wearing the suits, being business-like thing, because I have to, but I don�t like it.

I would like to work in a creative, dynamic industry. Music, fashion, entertainment. Cutting edge and hip. That�s what I need. Or is it?

I still wonder what would have happened if I would have taken the store manager job, when I lived in Pittsburgh. When my husband and I moved to Pittsburgh, I was offered a job as a store manager at this upscale boutique. In this position, I would have gone to New York every few months to buy the clothes for the store. Also, the owner of this store was friends with Nichole Miller. I would have gotten to meet Nichole Miller, would have gotten designer clothes straight from New York. But, according to my husband, the job was too far away from Pitt where he was getting his masters. Instead I got a job at Pitt, so I could get his education paid for.


The job where I�m at now is safe and stable. I have a daughter to think about. I need health care and a 401(k). To get a job like I want means moving. It means taking a risk. Is that being selfish?

What do you think? Do I stay where I am to be stable? Or take a risk?

|


Blogroll Me!


The WeatherPixie